Planning Commission

Board Members:

John Epley, Chair
Term Expires: December 31, 2019
Residence: West Pennsboro Township
James D. Ross, Vice Chair
Term Expires: December 31, 2019
Residence: Hampden Township
Barbara Wilson
Term Expires:  December 31, 2018
Residence: South Middleton Township
Robert J. Fisher, P.L.S., P.E.
Term Expires: December 31, 2020
Residence: Upper Allen Township
Jack Showley, DDS
Term Expires: December 31, 2020 
Residence: West Pennsboro Township
Christopher Knarr, AICP
Term Expires: December 31, 2018
Residence: Mechanicsburg Borough 
Heather Sweitzer
Term Expires: December 31, 2020 
Residence: Camp Hill
Term Expires: 
Rick Trynoski
Term Expires: December 31, 2019
Residence: Camp Hill Borough 

Ex-Officio Members:

Gary Eichelberger,
Cumberland County Board of Commissioners

The Commission’s functions shall include:

  • Provide advice to the Commissioners of Cumberland County on all matters relevant to the mission of the Cumberland County Planning Commission
  • Develop a County Comprehensive Plan with ongoing updates
  • Interface with county agencies and adjacent county planning agencies to enhance regional planning and cooperation.
  • Provide advice, review and recommendations to local officials concerning all matters relevant to local and regional planning.
  • Foster cooperative efforts of its citizens and communities so as to promote the overall quality of life and betterment of the County.

The Commission’s goals shall include:

  • The protection and preservation of our natural and cultural heritage to include open space, greenways and farmland preservation.
  • The revitalization of our urban communities
  • The development of our communities so as to afford a high quality of living standard
  • The maintenance of a sustainable economy
  • The mobilization and investment in the talents of our human resources
  • The promotion of strong planning leadership, awareness, responsibility, and involvement in county and community planning issues.
  • The coordination of planning priorities for transportation, economic development, tourism and other planning organizations within the County.
Adopted April 2002

Become a Planning Commission Member.